Leavin’ on a jet plane

“Both optimists and pessimists contribute to our society.  The optimist invents the airplane and the pessimist the parachute.” ~Gil Stern

I don’t know how this 4 day week is going to pan out in terms of free time so I figured I’d go ahead and make a post now.  I also don’t know if I can or will even want to get online once I’m in country.  I’m sure parts of Iceland will have wi-fi, but I’d be surprised if the places I’m going does. And I have no intention on even turning my phone on so AT&T can bend me over with an international fee.

I also don’t picture myself having as much time to sit down and write as much as I did on my road trip.  Eight days may seem like a lot of time, but exploring a country in eight days is pretty aggressive.  Eight days in the land of fire and ice.  From the looks of the forecast, it’s going to be more like the land of rain and more rain.  That just means our rental car smells like a swamp when we turn it back in eight days later. I’m hoping the rain lets up at least some so that I can set up for some shots of the northern lights.  Iceland is a photographic dreamland and I already have certain expectations of myself in capturing what I see there.

As you may recall from past posts, Mother Nature hates me.  So eight straight days of rain would be par for the course. It makes me glad that our first stop after de-boarding the plane will be the duty-free shop in the airport to buy our alcohol for the week – tax free of course.  From there I plan on getting my camera ready to take a picture of the dude holding a little sign with my last name indicating he’s going to take us to the rental car.  I can’t imagine what that’s going to look like.  A bunch of tired, jet lagged Americans, whose first stop was the liquor store, carting as much alcohol as they can carry on top of their luggage, stumbling like zombies toward him.  Awesome stereotype.

I can never sleep on airplanes.  It’s a control issue.  I always think I’m going to end up like one of those people in The Langoliers. And I don’t like stale food.

So as a result my in-flight book will be Alas, Babylon by Pat Frank.   It’s been on my bookshelf for a while now and I’ve purposely avoided it just to read on this trip.  And since this is me, of course it’s a post-apocalyptic book so I should plow through it pretty quickly.

My bag is not packed, but at least it’s open.  (It’s the thought of packing that counts.)  I have so much to do both at work and at home in the next 4 days that it’s very possible that I may be forced to sleep on the flight simply out of exhaustion. I’m tempted to upgrade my seat if I get the opportunity.  I’m sure I’ll need it after going through security.

One thought on “Leavin’ on a jet plane

Leave a Reply

