Harmonic Convergence

“I love England. It’s no coincidence it’s the first place I moved to for a more cosmopolitan life, which is the only thing Iceland lacks.”  Bjork

Coming to an Easter near you!

Well, it’s been settled.  Iceland, here I come.  I sure hope the Easter Bunny will be able to find me over there and get me my basket of candy.  Otherwise, we may have an international incident – if I don’t get my candy that is.

I mentioned before that it didn’t take much convincing, but my good friends at National Geographic only fanned the flames by publishing this article.  I hate it when I’m right.  While we still have a good deal of planning to do, I’ve started digging in to logistics, things to see, weather, and culture.  Turns out they eat some, er… “odd” things over there.  I’m not a picky eater and in fact I’ll try anything once as long as I can mentally convince myself it’s just like chicken.  Although I’m still trying to figure out how I’m going to convince myself that svið, (singed sheep’s head) is just like chicken.  But let’s face it, I’m not going there for the food.  I’m going there to play Beowulf and defeat Grendel for the view.

The entire country is nearly energy self-sufficient in that most of their power comes from geothermal or hydroelectric generation.   For now, the plan is to travel the 830 mile long main road that rings the outer edge of the country and see what we can find along the way.

Those who have read this blog and followed me during my western trip last May know that part of the greatness of that experience was taking my Jeep across the country and just turning off the road and heading out in to the middle of nowhere.  Well, this is not America, and they don’t have big gas guzzling V8 and redneck Jeeps where one can just tromp all over the countryside….

THEY HAVE LAND ROVER DEFENDERS!

 

Ok, back down to reality.  Yes, they have them to rent, but they are much more than the average rental car.  😦  But, but, how often do I get to travel the countryside of Iceland – IN A DEFENDER!?!?

These.  These are the things we have to work out.  You know, along with the little things like lodging / camping / food / plane tickets / gear / dates.  Truth be told, as long as I get to personally witness the Northern Lights, and get to unplug from work for a while I’d rent a bike and pedal my way across the island.  (But did I mention they have Defenders? )

Which brings me to another point.  I am out of shape.  Seriously.  From the time I got back from my trip in May, I’ve done very little physical activity other than sliding my office chair back and forth around the room.  Thank God my house has two flights of stairs, otherwise I’d be some kind of blob.

It doesn’t really matter what Land Rover vehicle  we end up renting, there’s going to be hiking involved.  And where there’s hiking, there’s a backpack and everything that goes along with it.  It’s time to get back on the exercise horse.  Besides, from what my dreams travel sites have told me, Iceland is filled with beautiful blond women. Just like America is filled with overweight, gun-totting, inbred war-mongering, rednecks, right?  No?  Well, there better be blondes or I’m asking for a refund.

It seems there’s a lot to do before Easter rolls around, but I love it when a plan comes together.  Icelandair, we’ll be seeing you soon, keep my seat warm and my drinks cold.

Leave a Reply

