Ice Ice Baby

Happiness is not a state to arrive at, but a manner of traveling.” – Margaret Lee Runbeck

A few days ago I was having a few beers after work with some friends and the topic of vacations came up.  I started to outline what I had in mind for 2012 as they are well-traveled and I always love getting advice.  My friend looked at me and said “Iceland“.  Wha….?

His “hear me out” speech was really just the icing (no pun intended) on the cake.  As it just so happens, in my search of the Interwebs for great photographic destinations, I’ve always found a few shots from Iceland.  The preconceived notion that it’s just a patch of dead ice is far from reality.  In fact, Iceland is quite beautiful. Take a look.

(Yes, those are cars parked at the mouth of a lava flow from an active volcano)

What I hadn’t known, until my friend’s speech, was that it’s only $600 round trip to fly there and the actual travel time isn’t that long leaving out of New York.  The idea is to fly over, camp our way around the countryside, live the experience and fly back.  When it’s all said and done this would be one of the cheaper vacations I’ve been on.

I was 90% sold but then it hit me, Iceland is one of the best places to witness the Aurora Borealis (Northern Lights) – a natural phenomenon that not many people ever see in their lifetime.

Reykjavík, here I come!

Leave a Reply

