A Vacation from my Vacation

“No man needs a vacation so much as the person who has just had one.”  ~Elbert Hubbard

Today I woke up.  That’s it.  Oh, and I put the “Do Not Disturb” sign on the door.  I’ve been on the go full-tilt since I left home.  Seeing this, hiking that, driving there.  Today consisted of watching the sun come through my french doors and fill my cabin with natural light.  Then I checked my email, sat on the porch and read my book for a few hours until I got a little hungry.  Then, in a change of pace from eating my dehydrated food, I drove 3 miles down the road and ordered a whole pizza with buffalo strips, caramelized onions, and bacon bits.  It was heaven.  It was also friggin expensive (a $36 pizza), but what the hell, I’m on vacation.  I also picked up a few souvenirs for myself.

I returned to the cabin by mid afternoon, filled the whirlpool bathtub with steaming hot water, grabbed my book, and fell asleep in the whirlpool tub for a few hours.

It was awesome.   And I needed that break.

Tomorrow is a flexible day (as today was).  I think I’ll do a local off-road trail or two then come back and relax again.  It will be my last night here at ZMR.  (Still haven’t turned on the TV.)  From here I’m headed to Monument Valley, Four Corners, and then Mesa Verde to camp.  After that it’s the trek home.

Wow, did this vacation go fast.

Leave a Reply

