Hurry up and wait

“The trick is to make sure you don’t die waiting for prosperity to come”. -Lee Iacocca

I thought for sure my last post would be my last post before hitting the road.  I figured I’d be working 24/7 to get things squared away with my job, then packing and loading the Jeep into the wee hours of the morning this week.  As it turns out, I should plan more trips throughout the year because I become extremely efficient when working under real pressure.  I even had a co-worker send me an email today stating that “I was on a roll today.”  Everything is packed and loaded, and nearly all of my projects for work are set to autopilot for the next 17 days. With the exception of my time sheet and out of office messages, I’m done and ready to go.

I’ve determined this efficiency level is all a trick by my subconscious to get me to leave early and cut my day 1 travel time in half.  And you know what?  It worked.  I’m leaving as soon as the whistle blows at 5 tomorrow, driving until I feel like stopping and chalking up one to “being ahead of the game.”  I must admit there is a little devil on my shoulder telling me to just take tomorrow off too and explore the mid-west.  Then the little angel on my other shoulder reminds me that it’s the mid-west and not to even bother.

I glance over my trip checklist a few times to make sure I have everything.  It has been raining non-stop all week so my grass, which is already tall enough to hide a velociraptor, is just going to get taller in the next three weeks. I’m sure the home owners association will write me a nice letter about that which will go directly into my trash after I give it the finger.  (This would be the same HOA that tries to trick people in to paying their fees twice by telling them they haven’t paid yet this year when they already have.)

On the bright side, the roads should be a little less crowded with the impending rapture and all this Saturday. As Bill Murray would say, “So I got that going for me, which is nice“.  The weather out west is looking pretty good for the trek, at least as far out as I can see it.  I don’t really care about driving in the rain, I’m more concerned about setting up camp (and tearing down) in the rain because a wet tent and gear smells awesome packed in a hot Jeep for 3 weeks.

Well, that’s about all she wrote I’d say.  I’m going to make an attempt to blog the trip each night as I can.  To be honest, it’s pretty low on my priority list.  I’m not going to lie, it’s actually right above sleeping.  Speaking of which, I’m so wound up right now that I doubt I’ll get much sleep at all tonight.  In any case, I’m logging off for a while.

I’m declaring myself westbound and down.

Leave a Reply

