Sea Trials

“We are tied to the ocean. And when we go back to the sea, whether it is to sail or to watch – we are going back from whence we came.”  John F. Kennedy

This past weekend’s pre-trip trip has taught me three things:  I will never be in the shape that my mind thinks I’m in, sand is immortal and will stick with you forever in everything it touches, and last but not least, my tent leaks. And believe me when I say sand is on EVERYTHING.

For the most part, we completely lucked out and avoided what could have been a very nasty tear down and hike out in a thunderstorm and downpour.  When the storm finally passed I, it appears our only causality was a bent trekking pole which was serving as a makeshift support beam for our overhead tarp.  Truth be told, I am impressed at how much it bent without breaking.  Kudos to Leki.  Great fresh air, friends, food and drink and a beach all to ourselves, I couldn’t ask for anymore.  I even got to see a female Assateague pony slap a male as he tried to hit on her.  I’m not sure what he said to her, but my guess was he deserved it.  (Although a kick to the face was probably a little extreme.)

With less than 1 week to go, I’ve shifted in to high gear busting my butt at work getting everything in place and picking up last minute items – mostly perishable food at this point.  While I often gush about back country camping, the beauty of camping out of your car is that after you’ve covered the essentials, you can pack it with as many luxury items as you can fit.  Every stop is a virtual tailgate.  Even more beautiful is camping out of the back of your car – in the back country.

With the amount of after work activities this week, this may well be my last update prior to departure.  At this point, I don’t think anything else that hasn’t already been expressed can be said.  I’m excited to the point you’d swear I was standing on the edge of a tall bridge ready to bungee jump.  I’m as prepared as I’ll ever be and now it’s time to take that last step… into the wild.

2 thoughts on “Sea Trials

  1. Besides the clever words you have constructed into an entertaining blog (which I do not have the guts for yet), your photo of the mare kicking, with what appears to be pipe cleaners for legs, is the best. Well done!

Leave a Reply

