An Inconvenient Truth

“I want to stay as close to the edge as I can without going over. Out on the edge you see all kinds of things you can’t see from the center.” (Kurt Vonnegut)

Fifty days to go.  With the exception of a few small things, all supplies are in hand, the Jeep is ready to go, and I’m more excited than ever.  I’m pretty sure that I’ve gone a bit overboard in some areas, but excess is always better than not enough for a trip such as this.  Now I’m left with trying to fight off the endless daydreaming that one goes through before a vacation, when I should be doing a number of other things.

There is one recurring thought on my mind that is normally only left as a harmless anecdote during casual conversation, however for me it is very real; what if I don’t want to come back?  People joke about it- not wanting to come back from their vacation.  What if it were real?  The truth is staring me in the face.  What if you had nothing holding you back from staying in one place?  Friends and my house.  That.  Is.  It.  That is what’s holding me in Delaware at the moment and it’s no secret I’m getting bored here.  I need more than the east coast can offer.  Friends are friends no matter what the distance between them happens to be.  The house is really the only obstacle in this market.  My job allows me to work from anywhere as long as I can get online.  Hell, most of my major clients are out west anyway.  I can say that I am honestly afraid that this trip will push me over the figurative edge.  Will this be the straw that breaks the “Camelbak”.  (See what I did there?)

The human spirit is powered from new experiences and quite frankly, I need more.

Leave a Reply

